Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

96 Protege Auto Transmission and more

Ok , newbie here..
    My girlfriend got a 96 Auto and the Trans mission is slipping and shifts really hard. Could that be the Torque converter? Something else

Also usually when its wet out side or the engine is cold, Once she starts the car it makes this loud loud loud high pitched squeaking noise... But it soon goes away after she starts driving after a minute or so..

Could that be the belts, timing belt, pulleys, ????

Last question, how much relatively would a new Trans cost?

Thanks
    Steven
    Last edited by BlownGP; 08-26-2004, 02:18 PM.
    VOTE FOR ME

You Don't Work, You Don't Eat, You Don't Grind, You Don't Shine

dont know, dont know, dont know, Is that your buser.
    According to my Anger Management Counselor, after 26 weeks of anger management class, I should be an expert when it comes to Anger Management...tell that to the guy who threw a starburst at my car in rush hour traffic...haha

Todays thought of the day:

Rice is great if your really hungry and want to eat 2000 of something.

Mitch Hedberg

Comment

Originally posted by fuq_A_vtec
      dont know, dont know, dont know, Is that your buser.
      Thanks

YES
      VOTE FOR ME

Comment

Check the transmission fluid level. Sounds kinda like a loose drive belt.
        2006 Mazda 3 hatchback manual

Comment

Same thing happens to mine, but its only really bad going to 2nd gear i think it is or up untill i start going about 20mph then it shifts really hard the rest are still hard when it shifts but there not as bad..........mines a 96 prtege lx automatic so maybe there was a recall on them?? i dunno but it sucks everything seems to be fine.
          Last edited by Mazda96Protege; 08-26-2004, 04:27 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by charles
            Check the transmission fluid level. Sounds kinda like a loose drive belt.
            Fluids good

I think she had the ACC. replaced a few monthes ago..