changed my brakes; now i've got questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

changed my brakes; now i've got questions

I changed my brakes last weekend (pads and rotors, front and rear) on my 2002 Protege5. It took me a really long time, because I've never done brakes before, but everything went mostly OK. I took pictures and plan to create a HOWTO soon, even though I see there's already a pretty good one in the How-To section.

I've got a question though. I get a scraping sound from the front of the car. It's not constant; it varies with wheel speed. Sort of a skish-skish-skish. It is only when I'm turning left, and it comes and goes. Mostly it doesn't happen at all. Anybody know what causes this?

I'm wondering if it could be the M-clips rubbing on the rotor. I'm not sure I reinstalled them properly. Does anyone have a good picture of them properly installed? Plus, the kind of got bent up a little as I tried to put them back in. Anybody know if you can buy these from Mazda or from an auto parts store? I can't find them, and it looks like Mazda only sells the clips as part of the brake pad kit.

Thanks.

Visit my car page: http://www.thinkythings.org/p5/p5home.html
    '02 Black Protege5
    '93 Gray Protege DX

double check that the dust shield is not bent and possibly touching the rotor. That is the thin metal peice that sits behind the rotor (engine side) and runs about 3/4 of the way around the rotor.

Comment

Originally posted by TheMAN
      did you turn the rotors?
      No. I installed new Power Slot rotors. The instructions said not to do anything (such as machining them). Just slap them on. So I did.