Box size?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Box size?

How big should the box be for 1 ed e8A.44? ed recommends .2-.4cF and their recommended box is .25cF. Should I shoot for .25cF? Do I gain anything with a bigger enclosure?

Thanks for everybodies help. This is my first time building a box.
    02 Protege ES

im pretty sure box size has alot to do with what kind of box it will be...

i.e. sealed, ported, band, dual band... and a bunch of other advanced types that blue LEDz knows about
    i mean, have u seen that thing?? i'ts like a maze!

anyway if ED says .25 then listen to them. it's their product; they should know!
    Tag Team

Comment

Like JP said, it will depend on the style of box. Those specs sound like a sealed box. In lamens terms, the bigger the box, the boomier (read less efficent) the bass will be. The smaller the box, the tighter or dry the bass will be.

I'd say shoot forthe .25 they recommend. Keep in mind the basket of the woofer will take up some room, so take that into account. (approx .056 for a standard sized 8" basket)

The box construction itself is just as important, use 3/4" MDF (3/8 at minimum) wood glue, sillycone and screws or an air nailer. internal bracing is not really needed with an 8" but you can still use seperate chambers to strengthen to box.

Also, i use the term box, but infact it's an enclosure, as a perfect box is the WORST shape for a sub enclosure. Try to add some angles. Or baffles inside the enclosure (take into account they take up airspace too, so you'll need to build it slightly bigger to obtain the same .25 internal volume.

Comment

how much room are you wanting to take up??? if room isn't a issue, run a 6-th order bandpass box. if room is a issue, run a ported box. let me know which you would run and i'll(me or blue) will play with winisd and give you some ideas.

good choice of sub BTW
        '02 classic red p5
        currently enrolled in AA.

Comment