Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie with Mazda. Need help on exhaust recommendations.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie with Mazda. Need help on exhaust recommendations.

Wussup guys?? I'm a newbie to the Mazda family and I need some recommendations on Exhaust work. My cat's are noisy as hell and all my piping is leaking. I'm about two weeks away from going to get my exhaust redone at the shop. I'm thinking custom header with one high flow cat and muffler all in 2.25 or 2.50 sized piping. what do you guys think. It's a 1.5L Auto. by the way.

Welcome to the boards.

I think there are several posts with exhaust info. Just do a search for it. If you still can't find anything post up the questions.

Here's a thread about exhaust recommendations

I got most of my exhaust done at a local Midas. The only thing they didn't do was remove my pre-cat and replace it with a downpipe. My downpipe is 2.5" then everything else back is 2.25". I also have a Magnaflow Hi-flow Cat.

Oh yeah and don't expect a miracle in performance change. It'll help but not too much.
    ED
    '05 6s 3.0L MT & '98 Pro DX 1.5L AT

Mazda Enthusiast Club Member
    Click for my CarDomain page

2nd Gen Protege Parts Catalog project in progress
    WTB: Gray 97/98 Protege Cupholder and Door Trim

Comment

Yeah, there is really nothing you can do to improve the Z5, short of a turbo, and even that would still be pretty slow. It probably wouldn't be worth the money to do a custom setup like that, especially with an automatic, you'd probably be better off saving for a swap or some such.

Comment

It seems as though he's gotta do exhaust work anyway so why not upgrade the exhaust system now. I only see the positives of getting the work done now. Well ... the custom header and downpipe might be overkill though, unless you can get a good deal.