2001 Mazda Protege headunit problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

2001 Mazda Protege headunit problem

hi everyone, this is my first time here, and i recently bought a 2001 Mazda Protege. The stock sound system is BAD, so i have been trying to upgrade it, and finally got around to working on that today. The new head unit is all ready to go (harness all hooked up) and the pocket under the radio is ready.... BUT, i can't get the factory radio out! A friend suggested putting coathangers into the radio pin slots, but unfortunately, that didn't work, and now the radio doesn't either! (and it has a cd stuck in it too Of course, it's one of my favorites (you guys know how that works).. A guy at circuit city was nice enough to try and get the unit out with the proper tools, but couldn't, b/c one of the pins was damaged. Is there some other way to get the radio out, and is there any hope of getting that cd back?? (without going to the dealer, cause it still has a warranty! ) Any ideas??? HELP! This is NOT a good start to the process!

Dazed and Confused

Comment

Thanks for the info, the part about the piece that comes down underneath the steering column was especially helpful. I was able to push the clips in on the side with the glovebox, and even move the radio out a bit! However, after looking at the driver side more closely, it looks like part of the metal clip is stuck on the plastic. It seems like if you could move the radio backwards, it would release the clip, and then it would come out.. or, if you look at this page:

scroll about halfway down, and there is a picture of the side bracket that holds it in. The picture shows two screws that appear to be holding the bracket on. Would it be possible to somehow get to those on the driver's side, to unscrew it, and release the bracket? (without doing any irreversible damage!) Thanks

Comment