Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

92 mazda engine swap

i have a soch engine on my 92 mazda protege but i want to do a engine swap
    i need help cause is my fisrt car i need to know what are the parts and how much ill it cost me to do it.
    ANGEL

Which engine are you looking to swap in?

Comment

a doch engine
      ANGEL

Comment

323forward...

I think I have the user name correct.
        I f you are located in PR .. That is the person to talk to .
        photo album|photo album 2 (pbase)

dbest1a AT yahoo DOT com

Comment

My DOHC swap cost me 50 bucks in gas to go pick the car up. It was given to me by a buddy. If you look though you can find a BP for about $200-$300. Then you need the DOHC ECU. And either get the DOHC wireing harness, or wire in a few extra wires for the VICs. I just used the DOHC harness as it was an auto and had the 4 wire TPS, and I plan on running a super afc when I boost. Also i'm not good with wiring, so it was just easier to swap harnesses. ITs not that hard took less than 15 minutes to get it done. It only took that long because I didn't wanna break any clips, which I ended up doing anyways.

So anywhere from $250-$350 I would look to spend, maybe more depending on how available the motor is around you. If you are talking about the BPT then you are looking at a whole lot more, than that. Also depending on if you wanna swap the tranny too will make a difference. The DOHC tranny has shorter gears, and is supposedly a bit stronger. You can use the 1.6 SOHC tranny which has been said to have about the same gear ratio as the 1.8 DOHC tranny, but from what people say it is also weaker.

I'm not sure what it is that is weaker on the trannies, most likely the case though.
          I haven't seen any one post anything about it in a long time.
          Last edited by Tweeaks; 11-04-2004, 09:28 AM.

Comment