noise when driving

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

noise when driving

Noob here and hope its the right place for this.

Got a 99 Protege ES AT with 40000 miles on it. Never do brake job but do a alignment last summer (need new tires because the inside parts of all tires wear off, am thinking $99 BF Traction t/a at costco)

the question:
    1) when its about 20-40 mph, I can hear some noise sometimes but not always. Don't matter is going straight or turning. After above 50 no such noise (or i can not hear it) and no such noise at idle or low speed... what could it be?
    2) last night when driving at quiet road, I hear it first time (my wife drive the car and once in a while I do), noise when i step on the gas... not quite like the sound you usually have when stepping on gas... Once i lift my foot off the panel, no such noise...

Thanks ahead for input.
    Last edited by lsman; 12-01-2004, 02:42 PM.

hmm what kinda noise... kinda sounds like a transmission thing to me... my car makes a loud whistling noise at 60mph only when its really windy outside, wish i could fix that.

Comment

I worry the trans too.
      But the noise "click click" higher pitch.
      and it start even its park and i step on the gas. there is the normal engine rev up sound and within 1 sec, this click sound was there. Stop after I lift my foot off gas.

Comment

ZE-512s are cheap at vulcantire.com, I bought mine from them, no probs at all. The noise you're describing almost sounds like valvetrain ticking, but it's hard to be sure with such a vague description.

Comment

Originally posted by TheMAN
          robisconfusedd: are you confused enough that you can't find answers to all the problems you're getting in the faq?
          oo i hadnt seen the faq until now, sry and thanks! i know im a n00b but what does TSB stand for?? "A TSB was issued to remedy the problem"

Comment

technical service bulletin

Comment

(sorry to hijack your thread) ^^ thanks

Comment