Check Engine Light/ EGR malfunction

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Check Engine Light/ EGR malfunction

on my '98 protege, 1.5 L engine, I have been waging battle against my check engine light for a few years now.

At first, it was the "gas cap issue," where I just needed to tweak my gas cap. Then it was a bad O2 sensor. This year it reads "EGR malfunction," which is so general and vague it drives me nuts.

Can anyone tell me where the EGR is located? In my Haynes book, it looks like it is on the end of the vacuum hose at the throttle. Is this right? And, what can I do to test it?

BTW, I am more of a remove/replace kid of guy, not a real mechanic, so please talk down to me.

thanks!

if the car is running properly, most likely its stuck shut

its located below the throttle body, and back towards the passenger wheel... its held in by 2 bolts, and has 1 harness going to it

there is no vacuum line going to it

if you want to remove and replace it, you're looking into a 200 dollar part if you go to the dealer

what i would do if i was you is,
    1. ensure a signal is getting to the egr. the haynes manual will give you instructions
    2. if its not, you'll have to back track and find out where the signal is being stopped
    if it is, then you could either take off the egr and try to fix it (which is possible) or replace it if you're not comfortable fixing it...

Comment

Thank you Pigeon,
      I will try that tonite and get back to you. I looked at an after market parts store and it was $270 for the part, so I will try to fix it. (I guess if it is broken, I can't break it anymore, huh? )

thanks

Comment

you're welcome

to seperate it, theres only 4 phillips screws holding it... just make sure you spray penetrating oil on it before you attempt to loosen it, cause if you strip a scrwe then theres more unnecessary problems

if the valve is moving freely with your fingers, then nothing is gummed up with carbon...