Tire/wheel help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tire/wheel help

I have a 2002 Protege ES GT and I'm a newb when it comes to buying wheels/mags. The 2002 Protege ES GT is the Canadian version of the US ES-spec Protege with stock 16" wheels, 5x114.3 bolt pattern, wrapped in 195/50R16 rubbers.

I'm looking into buying a new wheel that is 17x7, 5x114.3 bolt pattern and has an offset of 42.

First question: should I go with 205/40R17 or 215/40R17? Which tire size will provide a more accurate speedometer/mileage reading? According to the Miata tire size calculator, 215 is more accurate when comparing to the stock 195/50R16 size, but when comparing to the 185/65R14 (my winter tires) size, 205 is more accurate.

Second question: with 17x7 and either 205/40R17 or 215/40R17 is a 42 offset on the wheel sufficient for the sedan Protege?

Third question: what's a better choice for the tire: Falken FK451 or Toyo Proxes 4? The Toyos are $40CDN more per tire. Are they really worth the price difference?

Thanks in advance

in response to the first question, I'd go with the 215 for two reasons, one: better traction, two: the speedo is going to be more accurate, your winter setup probably isn't as accurate as the tires that came from the factory. however, the speedo is probably off +/- 2 mph anyways. as far as tires, I'm partial to Falken as a brand, but don't have direct experience with 451's, I have 512's and love em, and the Azenis are the top choice among auto-x-ers.

Comment

Thanks for the tip, but I'm afraid the 215 tire with a +42 mm offset wheel may rub on the 3rd gen sedan Pro. Has any one else had rubbing issues with such a set up?