The easy way...the best way?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The easy way...the best way?

I've been detailing cars since I was about 8 years old...thanks to my father. When I was 16, my first car (1984 Chevy Spectrum) was the cleanest car in the state of Connecticut, no joke. Anyway...to this day my father and I talk about car care products. The variety of brands and products are virtually endless. It's even come to point to put a water filter on your damn hose to avoid using a shamee to dry your car off. Personally I haven't tried it so I'm not going to critisize it. But it is lazy.
    As far as the tires... Almost any tire shine these days tell you to spray it on and walk away. Do that and you're guarunteed an uneven mess, no matter what "setting" the nozzle is on. From my recent personal experiece, the aerosol cans (ie Meguire's Hot Tire Shine and Nxt Generation Insane shine) put one bad ass shine on your tires. Lightly sprayed on clean tires makes the tires look like they have a sheet of plastic wrap fitted just for your tire. Perfect for a car show or strictly just admiration.
    BUT...drive your car one time on dry pavement and look at your tires. They look like poo! And if it's windy outside...forget about it! Everything from sand to grass will stick. The stuff NEVER dries. Silicone is not meant to dry...its a lubricant.
    The same goes for the clear stuff too (ie Black Magic Tire Shine, Tire Wet, etc.)
    They'll make tires look real good but after the spin off, they look like poo!
    I've tried almost everything to make my '00 Pro look the best. Here's what I do..
    Reguardless of what you have on your tires now. Get a ---TIRE FOAM---.
    Do not spray in directly on your tires. Find yourself an old rag. Just for your tires. If you don't want foam in you treads, to prevent spin-off, let the foam soak in the rag. You gotta rub this stuff IN your tires. Repeat as necessary.