Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

straight answers on speaker replacement

Hi,

I want to replace my stock speakers on my protege since the two right ones are blown.

I don't want to spend alot of money or alot of time installing them.

Could someone tell me what size the front speakers are, and what size the back speakers are?

I want everything to fit right into the factory holes with little modifications.

In the stickies, there seems to be a pretty big confusion as to what size the front speakers and rear speakers are.

I did this for a living for the longest, so I am well burnt out from talking about speakers and figuring size out.

Could someone please tell me what size speakers will fit the factory holes so that I can begin to look for a cheap set?

Thank you for your help.

The car is a 92 Protege.
    93 EGT 5M, Bimini Blue

132k miles, DD only

0w20, EG Fram Oil Filter for Probe 2.5L, Magnetic Drain Plug, ebay cone filter, 03 Protege Rotors, moog sway bar end-links on rear sway bar, mx3 seats, Power Sunroof, Miata Valve Cover Bolts, Gatorback Belts, Timing *14 on 87 Oct, Autolite 3924 @ .043 - 35 mpg at 67 mph (95% highway driving) with A/C and headlights on. Untested for fuel economy: Sylvania EcoBright 9004, .717 5th gear with D6 ATF, NGK wires, 195/65/15 Kumho LRR 4 wire tps

Former Car: 92 Protege DX 5 spd.

If you want to play it safe and relieve yourself from extra modifications, put 5 1/4's in your front doors and 6 1/2's in your rear dash.

Comment

Originally posted by Kevin
      If you want to play it safe and relieve yourself from extra modifications, put 5 1/4's in your front doors and 6 1/2's in your rear dash.
      thanks for the straight answer on this.....I am so burnt out and lazy hehe

I knew something was up. I checked multiple websites and each one said something else. Some said 6 1/2 all the way around.

I just don't want to stress it no more.

Thanks bud.
      93 EGT 5M, Bimini Blue

132k miles, DD only