Announcement

Collapse

Merged Threads

All threads have been merged into regional general discussions.
If you need a thread moved to a specific state, Please PM a moderator
See more
See less

Help with springs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help with springs

Is there anyone in/near the Portland area that has the tools and the knowledge and is interested in helping me put some springs in my Mercedes? Not happening for a few weeks at least, but I'm just putting the feelers out now. I would love to do the work myself but I've never done suspension stuff before so I want some guidance the first time around. I don't have the money to pay for an install right now but I want to share the work (I'm not asking anyone to do it all for me) and I'll buy the pizza and beer.

Can anyone help out?

If you have an Autozone around, they give out rent-a-tools and you can get a spring compressor. From there, it's pretty much a straight forward job. You can figure it out yourself without a problem as long as you have the tools. It's not that hard to do at all, just don't forget to get an alignment afterwords
    -------------------------
    '91 LX
    '03 Mazdaspeed Protege #235

Originally posted by pigeon
    well if you're a fan of inaccuracy and uncertainty.... then by all means, go set your timing by feel and sound

while you're out there, you might as well adjust your air/fuel ratio by smell... and your tire pressure by ride height

Comment

I'm sure I could figure it out for myself, I would just feel a lot better having someone help me the first time around. If nobody takes me up on it, I'm sure I'll try it anyway.

I just looked at Autozone's website... how much is the deposit for renting a spring compressor? It doesn't say actual prices on there.

Comment

I think it's between $50 and $70.

Comment

Originally posted by Intruder
          I think it's between $50 and $70.
          The spring compressor was definately in that price range.