New to the Tune

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to the Tune

I'm new to the tuning aspect of racing and i am wondering what is the first thing i should do to my engine to get it set up just right. As far as hp goes. I know very little but I am interested in the idea of making my car faster and better. The only thing i know i do not want to do to my engine is use spray. I won't touch the stuff.

rider, welcome to the board... lets start off by figuring out what engine you have. what year and trim level do you have? and there's nothing wrong with spraying!
    -mike lucero
    1988 Mazda 323 GTX
    2001 Isuzu Rodeo

Comment

i own a 2002 Protege LX 2.0L 5 spd manual

Comment

it all depends on your budget your first upgrades, if you are on a budget is suspension upgrades. our cars handle great right from the factory, but adding sway bars and upgrading springs and struts will give you a huge difference on handling if you've got the money, get a turbo. that's the most popular way of making your car faster. trying to make your car faster without boosting it will cost way too much although you could do cams, pistons, ECU, flywheel, etc, along with intake, port and polish, and full exhaust, but you won't get anywhere near the potential of a turbo just don't forget a new clutch, and probably mazdaspeed axles if you plan on running a lot of power even a short shifter with new bushings too:p:

Comment

One thing im looking for in uprgrading my car is individualality. I like the idea of a turbo but with worrying about turbo lag (something i really dont know about) wouldnt it be better to go with a supercharger? As far as budget goes what type of setup can i get for my suspension with a budget of $2k?

Comment