PDA

View Full Version : Circuit breaker?



traitorhound
11-21-2003, 06:33 PM
Hey guys im doing some rewiring and i was just wondering if it was doalbe to use a circuit breaker instead of a fuse holder at teh battery?

Pros, cons, etc?

macklum
11-21-2003, 06:45 PM
a circut breaker will work just as well as a fuse . Make sure you mount it within 18" of the battery and protect the terminals from being able to drop something on the terminals. The nice thing about a circut breaker is you can shut off the power to the circut same as a home circut breaker .

blue LEDz
11-21-2003, 11:47 PM
Originally posted by macklum
a circut breaker will work just as well as a fuse . Make sure you mount it within 18" of the battery and protect the terminals from being able to drop something on the terminals. The nice thing about a circut breaker is you can shut off the power to the circut same as a home circut breaker .


depends on which circuit breaker you get. there are the ones that only trip when shorted out, and there are the ones with the red tab on top that you can trip to shut off the line;) circuit breakers are great, since you don't have to worry about keeping extra fuses around:biggrin: