PDA

View Full Version : What can i use as an asseccory power



phoenixzero
11-30-2003, 10:36 PM
i've done a search and i still can't find what i would hook up my remote wire for my amp to any help would be nice!? the amp says i could hook the remotye to an accessory power but whats considered asseccory power?!

JJB
11-30-2003, 11:28 PM
I am pretty sure that the cigarette lighter circuit in our cars is switched on and off with the ignition. You could use that.

I think that the term "accessory power" refers to a source that is turned on when the key in in the accessory or run positions.

blue LEDz
11-30-2003, 11:32 PM
tap into the fuse box, steering column, or as JJB said, the wire for the cigarette plug;)

dacinokc
12-02-2003, 11:10 AM
OR- use a relay attached to the signal out of the headunit to turn on the sytem. David Navone sells a nice one, or build one yourself via Radio Shack. I keep a few of David's around all the time now, they are very well designed and built. :cool:

skr33t_rac3r
12-02-2003, 11:16 AM
or you can wire the amp power cable into the remote with a switch and turn it on and off as u like

blue LEDz
12-02-2003, 06:50 PM
Originally posted by dacinokc
OR- use a relay attached to the signal out of the headunit to turn on the sytem. David Navone sells a nice one, or build one yourself via Radio Shack. I keep a few of David's around all the time now, they are very well designed and built. :cool:


ah yes, i always forget about david's turn on systems;)

hihoslva
12-03-2003, 04:00 PM
Originally posted by skr33t_rac3r
or you can wire the amp power cable into the remote with a switch and turn it on and off as u like

I think we've all learned to ignore everything you say - especially when you give advice.

This is a dumb idea. For many reasons. Not the least of which is: The first time you forget to flip the switch, kiss your battery goodbye.

You can easily install a switch on the remote wire - I generally do this for sub amps, so that I can turn the sub on or off without affecting the rest of the system.

But I don't RELY on that to shut my amps off.

~HH

JJB
12-03-2003, 06:33 PM
Originally posted by hihoslva
I think we've all learned to ignore everything you say - especially when you give advice.

This is a dumb idea. For many reasons. Not the least of which is: The first time you forget to flip the switch, kiss your battery goodbye.

You can easily install a switch on the remote wire - I generally do this for sub amps, so that I can turn the sub on or off without affecting the rest of the system.

But I don't RELY on that to shut my amps off.

~HH

add to that the fact that you want to have the amps turned on BEFORE you apply a signal to them (unless they have a delayed input control built in) so that you do not damage the speakers after them by asking the amp to do work before it is ready (i.e. not all the bias points on the transistors inside have arrived at the operating points right after turn on).

Kevin
12-05-2003, 01:05 AM
Originally posted by skr33t_rac3r
or you can wire the amp power cable into the remote with a switch and turn it on and off as u like
or you COULD even just connect it to the battery under the hood with the car running with wet hands applied to each terminal of the battery.. thats BOUND to turn something .. like.. common sense? :)

ah :gives:

skr33t_rac3r
12-05-2003, 08:46 AM
i had mine hooked up to a switch for like 2 years and never did it do any thing to my amp or my speakers and i even forgot to turn it off once or twice it didnt drain my battery that much. an when it did all i had to do was suck my stepfather's dick and he bought me a new one. he helped me put in the swich so it's his fault but he does'nt care when it dies i just get another becuase i can switch to one of the other 7 batterires i have in the car, i have extra cuz i do that for my stepfather alot and he gets what i need.

Iceman112k3
12-05-2003, 09:13 AM
I've only been here less then a week and already I know that about the only thing this guy tells teh truth about is having "smoked himself retarted"
either that or he's lieing pretending he did because he thinks drugs are cool. (more likely)

what a jackass, you mean to tell me an amp which draws more juice then a dome light isn't going to do ****? what kind of amp did you have a 1.5 volt duracell battery? pah-leeeeseeeee stop talking out your ass.

MazdaMania
12-05-2003, 09:58 AM
Haha...it went along with his 450hp and runnin through traffic at 120+....i think he was just tellin us about all the dreams he's had recently but who knows.
What's wrong with the blue remote turn on that's already at the head unit? I'm assuming there is one because there was on in my miata and there's on in my pro. Sounds like the easiest solution since it doesn't require tapping into the fuse box or an aux. fuse or anything.

skr33t_rac3r
12-05-2003, 11:17 AM
the amp i ahd was a koiler 600 and it powered 2 pioneer 10's

Protoss
12-05-2003, 11:33 AM
Originally posted by Iceman112k3
pah-leeeeseeeee stop talking out your ass.

Originally posted by sk33t_rac3r
i had mine hooked up to a switch for like 2 years and never did it do any thing to my amp or my speakers and i even forgot to turn it off once or twice it didnt drain my battery that much

drain your battery that much. how long did you forget to turn your amp off? an hour tops? look stfu n00b! look smarten up, shut up, and learn.


Originally posted by sk33t_rac3r
the amp i ahd was a koiler 600 and it powered 2 pioneer 10's

i'm guessing that the "ahd" is suposed to be had and the what happened forget to turn the amp off one more time and fried it? i've blown and amp with a very small short. and what you say is just stupid.

Iceman112k3
12-05-2003, 12:25 PM
cable is the moderater supreme. He mods his cars, he mods these forums, and he mods idiot moronfaces quotes.
Threepeat.

hihoslva
12-05-2003, 01:22 PM
Originally posted by skr33t_rac3r
the amp i ahd was a koiler 600 and it powered 2 pioneer 10's

I have one of those same Koiiler amps in my basement - piece of total ****. Not even worth the metal it's made from.

~HH

blue LEDz
12-05-2003, 03:02 PM
this is going nowhere:rolleyes: all his posts that i've read have been completly stupid and worthless. thread locked:40oz: