Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

supercharge or turbocharge?

Hello fellow Mazda'ers
    I am new here, and I own a 01 Pro with the 1.6L DOHC engine. Love the car, mods so far are Mazdaspeed lowering springs, 16" alum. alloy wheels with Yokohama 205/45-16 VR tires, and some cockpit mods...

Now my problem is this car is slooow compared to my previous car (93 Toyota corolla with a swapped in 4a-ge 20 valve blacktop engine, redline 8000 rpm, 160hp at flywheel).

So now I have two options: 1)supercharge, 2)turbocharge. The cost for both projects is about the same: $2500, give or take a couple hundred bucks. I am a doctor and the cost is not an issue here.

So lets have it folks, which route is better, more reliable, and more fun!?
    mota mazda

biknman on this forum is actually selling his 1.6 turbo kit, here's the link:

I have seen his car with this kit, and I'd say it is a very good setup.

unfortunately as of right now this is the only kit I know of that works with the 1.6 motor. Most of the turbo developments have been made on the 2.0 FS motor.

'04 Titanium RX-8

Comment

Hi Zoom
      Thanks for the quick reply.

Actually, I already saw that post about the turbo kit for sale, but I do not want to buy one that is used.

Take a look at ardperformance.com and you will find turbo kits for all kinds of mazdas! I was thinking along the lines of the extreme performance kit with the T25 turbo and intercooler.

Tell me what you think.
      mota mazda

Comment

give me a link and i'll tell you what i think.

'04 Titanium RX-8

Comment

here is the link:

sorry if I don't know how to make the link active yet... he he

go to the performance section, and see the turbo kits
          mota mazda

Comment

Damn I was wondering myself about a supercharger for our 1.6l engine. I guess thats a thing of the distant future..if at all
            Sagaris

Comment

ok i just went to ardperformance and looked at the turbo kits listed.