PDA

View Full Version : Visor Monitor



mazdaprotege99
02-01-2004, 08:05 AM
After much discussion concerning the In Dash monitor has anyone considered the Visor Monitor? If anyone has one installed let me know.

Thanks

blue LEDz
02-01-2004, 09:14 AM
After much discussion concerning the In Dash monitor has anyone considered the Visor Monitor? If anyone has one installed let me know.

Thanks



i was planning on getting some visor monitors, but i just haven't had the extra money for them. there's a company that actually sells the monitors in sun visors, with the controls right on the visors.

mazdaprotege99
02-01-2004, 09:40 AM
i was planning on getting some visor monitors, but i just haven't had the extra money for them. there's a company that actually sells the monitors in sun visors, with the controls right on the visors.


Would you happen to have the company name? I would like to check that out.

blue LEDz
02-01-2004, 09:42 AM
Would you happen to have the company name? I would like to check that out.


i had it saved as a favorite, but i've had to recover my laptop a few times, so i've lost all my links:( the downside to it was that it was like $350+, so it would probably cheaper to just mount your own.

zerocover
02-01-2004, 12:37 PM
Alot of people make visor monitors.

eg
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3075207643&category=48608
or if you want it built in
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3073948704&category=32826

You can froogle them and find a worse price though.

Ive been looking into this and they are just way too expensive when you can get the monitor for $100. All your paying for is the case.

asylum24
02-01-2004, 02:57 PM
I've thought about it and decided to just mold a 5" inch screen into my center console

zerocover
02-01-2004, 03:08 PM
Why only 5" ive decided to look for an 8" one to mold into the center console. It has to be at least 8.6" though but without the casing it will be cheaper. Ill probubly go with a 7" and just put it into my console casing and all.

Im thinking something like this
http://www.protege5.com/vbb230/showthread.php?s=&threadid=24407&highlight=lcd+install

Looks so stock!

asylum24
02-01-2004, 03:13 PM
ahh well see you have a 3rd gen I have a 2nd gen... an early 2nd gen at that... so its going way down by the shifter.... it sounds weird yes but the whole center thing will be fiberglasses over and the the Ebrake will be hidden under a lil door.... basically the height of my little console thingy with the lid where my current armrest is will be the the same height as everything else all thway to the radio and then a door will open sideways to pullt he ebrake up..... it will then give off the idea of short shifter even though it wont be which sucks but it will look better in the end :) sounds odd I know but I did some drawings and renders of it and it looks bad ass

zerocover
02-01-2004, 03:24 PM
Hmm now you got me thinking about it.
I could use a small screen and put it by the shifter.
that way I could keep my radio.

For a screen that small it should be nice but wont the shifter block your view?

You could hack up a ps one screen.
With a little work I hear they can even take vga inputs.
You can pick one up for about $50.

Iknow a few people that are using them as head rest monitors.

asylum24
02-01-2004, 03:33 PM
you will have to wait and see Iguess ;)