Questions about GT SPEC Chassis and Suspension Stiffening Bars

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Questions about GT SPEC Chassis and Suspension Stiffening Bars

I currently have OEM suspension with the exception of alloy wheels and wider tires. In the future I plan to change to MP3/MSD springs and struts but for now, I only want to focus on these bars. Since I have a sedan in which the rear strut towers are already tied together by the frame, I am not interested in the Rear Strut Tower bar, the 4 Point Linkage Bar for Trunk or the Trunk Reinforcement Bar. Also, I don't want to encroach on my trunk space. Likewise, I already have the MP3 Strut Tower Bar kit so am not interested in the one made by GT SPEC.

Incidently, I found all these components listed on the Corksport website and yes, I'm aware that one of our own vendors, AXR, sells them. I am far from a suspension expert and would appreciate any advice that anyone could provide on the following components:

Front 4 Point Ladder Bar
    Does this component serve the same function as and replace the part listed in the FSM as the Transverse Member?

Tie Bar-Front
    I can't seem to find its counterpart on the car. Is this an add-on device that is absent on the stock suspension? If so, it seems like it would provide additional chassis rigidity. If it's an add-on, where does it mount?

Lateral Arms
    Same as Trailing Links listed in the FSM?

Tie Bar-Rear
    I can't seem to find this in the FSM unless it refers to either the front or rear lateral link? Or is it a separate add-on?

Protective Panel
    I have no idea what it is or what it does other than it mounts in the front.