Hey everyone,

I have a 1998 Protege DX 1.5L and I'm trying to find out all that I
    can to make the most of this car.

Does anyone have any recommendations for ways to improve my
    performance (besides doing an engine swap)? I'm a beginner, please
    spell things out.

Someone told me that all the parts from a 3rd gen 1.6L engine will
    fit onto the 1.5L engine. Is this true?

Are there any good air intake systems available for the 2nd gen?

I'd appreciate any help you guys can give me.
    ED
    '05 6s 3.0L MT & '98 Pro DX 1.5L AT

Mazda Enthusiast Club Member
    Click for my CarDomain page

2nd Gen Protege Parts Catalog project in progress
    WTB: Gray 97/98 Protege Cupholder and Door Trim

Hello, and welcome to most of our lives. Unfortunately, doing the swap is the best way to get performance out of your car. 1.5 liter engine was not made with performance in mind. Niether are all other engines, but this one in particular is not definately not it. There are a few parts available, but most would have to be custom made, and give only little gain. One thing our cars can do good is handle. In this department, you can choose from a wide variety of lowering springs, rims, and tires. You can also get a strut bar, possibly find a rear sway bar from 95 or ES models. As for links, try www.corksport.com who specializes in Mazda parts (expensive). Also, www.nopionline.com which sells most universal or common parts (affordable). There is also www.essentialspeed.com which have design and in process of making many parts for 1.5 engine; cold-air intake, headers, performance exhaust, and turbo. Stick around, read on what other have done. You can check out my site and see what I have done to my DX. Goodluck.

"Probable impossibilities are to be preferred to improbable possibilities."

Comment

Thanx for the input.

This might sound dumb but ...

What exactly will adding a cold air intake do for my engine?

What will the sway bar do?