shift speeds?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

shift speeds?

i'm a newb at driving 5spd, while looking through my manual it gives reccomened shift speeds for casual driving

if my memory serves me correct it goes soemthing like this:

1st to 2nd 16mph
    2nd to 3rd 25mph
    3rd to 4th 35mph
    4th to 5th 45mph

my protege is the dx model, without a tachometer, so its sometimes hard to tell if i'm goign to fast for each gear. for example when i'm on a hill.

can someone reccomend me some maximum shift speeds for this car? or where i can find such a chart on the net? the reason i ask is because i looked at my friends manual for his 93 honda accord, and his manual had a similar chart in it, but it also gave max shift speeds, and his 3rd gear goes to 80mph

i know there is no way the proteges 3rd can go that high, thats the main reason i am asking here. like i said i dont have a tach to see how close to red line i actually am.

-danN

i can max my 97 pro lx 5spd at...

1st - 2nd at 25mph
    2nd - 3rd at 60mph
    3rd - 4th at 85mph
    4th - 5th at 110mph

thats taking it only to 6500rpms, i haven't gone any further bcuz i have no clue how the cars engine will handle it

Comment

Originally posted by streetsoldier85
      i can max my 97 pro lx 5spd at...

1st - 2nd at 25mph
      2nd - 3rd at 60mph
      3rd - 4th at 85mph
      4th - 5th at 110mph

thats taking it only to 6500rpms, i haven't gone any further bcuz i have no clue how the cars engine will handle it
      i'm assuming yours is a 2.0? i could not see mine reaching 60 in 2nd (1.5 92hp)

thanks for the input!

-danN

Comment

no, mine is a 1.5L remember i took it to 6500 rpms which is engine redline. i dont know how much higher if any i could have taken it
        Last edited by streetsoldier85; 05-26-2004, 11:40 PM.

Comment