Protege 5 header problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Protege 5 header problems

Yes im a newbie, and yes i tryed searching.

Yesterday i went to install the awr racing header. Took all stock hardware off. Than i go to install the new header and theres no way its getting into that car. Not from the bottom or the top of the enigne bay. So than I drained the collent. And removed the upper rad hose and the hardware it connects to. Sort fo looks like a water pumpp. And this was not going in. Corksport was closed yesterday so Im going to try on monday. But does anybody see a way besides removing the ac condensor and all of that hardware.

HELPPPPPPPPPPP

Hate to tell you this but when my mechanic installed my AWR header, he basically had to remove all the hardware in the front of the engine including the radiator etc.. And after he got it in it is an extremely tight fit, in fact it touches the right front heat shield on the fans, has actually burned a groove in the heat shield, sorry bout the news but I dont think there is a way to get the header in without removing all that stuff, course I have a 99 sedan, but I dont think there is that big a difference in what is up there.

99ES 5spd, AWR header, AEM SRI, custom 2.25" SS catback, B&M shortshifter, Eibach prokit, KYB struts, powerstop rotors, EBC greenstuff pads, Magnecor wires and Iridium plugs

Comment

yep you'll probably have to take off the rad.

Comment

Thanks guys for the input. You think when I bought them The unnamed company would have gave me a heads up. Lets just hope I dont have to mess around with the ac condensor, cause im not a fan of r-134a

Comment