Linksys Wireless Router Help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Linksys Wireless Router Help

I just got a Linksys Wireless Router to share my broadband internet connection today. I'm enjoying it very much but I'm new to this router stuff. I need a little help with AIM. Now that I have the router up and running, I can't open a Direct Connection in AOL Instant Messenger. I've played around with the Proxy settings for a bit but I don't know if I'm configuring it correctly.

I'm running Win2K on my IBM Thinkpad laptop (64MB RAM, PII400) and Windows XP on my Compaq Presario (384MB RAM, PIII550) desktop.
    Clint/1999 "Sport20"

my friend has the same problem. u gotta fux with the hardware firewall that is in the router to let aim use a port.

try disabling the firewall altogether, im sure that if you do then direct connect will work. im not sure what port aim uses so i cant help much more than what i've stated.
    Tag Team

Comment

Find out what port AIM is talking on, then go into the firewall settings and open that port.
      '02 Black Protege5
      '93 Gray Protege DX

Comment

Here's a good thread on the problem, has a few solutions:

I ordered a wireless router from officedepot.com, was supposed to be here the 19th and it's STILL not ****ing here... I'm ready to flip ****, I'm going to lose the rebates soon!!!! ****ing assholes!

[edit]
        Short version: Looks like direct connect is port 4443 and file sharing is port 5190... Lemme know if it works!
        Last edited by funkdaddysmack; 09-23-2003, 07:50 AM.
        Dan
        dreesemonkey

Comment

Originally posted by JProtege
          ...try disabling the firewall altogether, im sure that if you do then direct connect will work. im not sure what port aim uses so i cant help much more than what i've stated.