20 mm wheel offset?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

20 mm wheel offset?

hey, my friend got his new First Gen today. and his rims were nice. came with the car. dey are 15 by 7's. So we decided to take it off, because were going to prep it for paint. Then when i read the back of the rim, it said 20mm offset. I was like WTF? he's running 205/50/15 on it. but it looks fine on the car. took me a ride in it and doesnt rub or do anything unusual. kind of just weird that it said 20mm offset on it. mmm?

What exactly is the question?

Comment

I dont really know. i just wanted to know if this was wierd. Is he safe whith this wheel or not.

Comment

If it's not rubbing I don't see why it would matter.

Comment

Alright. I mean, i was just worried about something messing up with the wheel bearing with the 20mm offset.

Comment

I'd wait for a second opinion... I'm not an expert on this stuff.

Comment

Originally posted by jnorion
              I'd wait for a second opinion... I'm not an expert on this stuff.
              thanks.

Comment

A +20 mm offset is probably not a good idea and could lead to problems.

For a calculator to determine the effect of wheel offset on dimensional location of the wheel, check out: www.wihandyman.com/forum/showthread.php?t=12349

Now I'm not familiar with the OEM wheel width on the car in question but I believe that the wheel was +45 mm offset and no wider than 6" (perhaps 5.5"?). The calculator indicates that a 7" wide, +20 mm wheel will project outboard +38 mm (1.5") compared with a 6" wide, 45 mm wheel. That extra projection is actually quite a lot in terms of the increased loading on the wheel bearings, ball joints and control arm bushings that can lead to excess wear and damage.

Additionally, there is the problem of the large change in scrub radius that such a large change in offset causes. For small changes in offset, this is normally not a problem, but it could be in this case. That's another issue, however.