help!! lost keys!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

help!! lost keys!

umm...wow..it's been a while since i posted here..

well anyway...i lost my keys on monday. it has the keys to my protege and the remote for keyless entry.

i've never lost my keys before...so i guess i'm looking for advice on what to do?

my dad called me and said mazda charges like a hundred something to make new keys...i'm sure there are ways around this.

i was just on ebay and they sell the transmitter for the keyless entry mechanism....but i dunno if i should buy those to replace the one i lost? i'm sure it would have to be reprogrammed somehow.

also, i'm getting my spare key up here soon....any tips on how to duplicate it?

i'm a college student so i dont have much money...

any advice and help on this would be VERY appreciated.

thanks so much everyone.

brian.

e-mail: hastethisday@gmail.com
    AIM: embers n envlops
    Brian
    2002 Mazda Protege LX Black Mica

Currently attending Lehigh University...Bethlehem, PA

a few hundred???? when i called mazda to have my key replaced after i broke it in the ingntion they said htey could make me a new key for 10 dollars ,

Comment

Originally posted by Chad
      a few hundred???? when i called mazda to have my key replaced after i broke it in the ingntion they said htey could make me a new key for 10 dollars ,
      okay...i'm sorry...maybe i exaggerated. but it was like 140ish.
      Brian

Comment

Originally posted by BL_Protege
        okay...i'm sorry...maybe i exaggerated. but it was like 140ish.
        oh alright well they still told me 10 lol...

good luck

Comment

Are 3rd gen keys chipped?

If not, then you just go to Home Depot or anyone else who can make copies of keys and they'll do it for you.

As for the keyless entry remote you can get one from ebay but you'll have to go to the dealer to get it re-programmed. Before you buy it though, call the dealer to see if they can do it and how much it'll cost.

Comment