February 2008 ROTM - wheresthericego

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

February 2008 ROTM - wheresthericego

I'm happy to introduce February's ROTM winner, wheresthericego. He has a beautiful 2nd Gen Protege that is often times over looked, but this is one that deserve a 2nd, 3rd, or 4th glance to appreciate the hard work that has gone into it.

I'd like to be the first to congradulate him on ROTM!

Well this car was my first car. I got her when I was 17 and i've had her for almost 6 years now. She was in rough shape with 132k miles when I bought her. A few dents and dings and chipped bumpercovers. I wasn't complaining much as it was a Mazda and a 5 speed which is all I wanted. At the time I didn't konw what potential this car had and I started painting interior pieces white and putting stickers everywhere. I had a fart canister welded on and I was good to go. I kept the car maintained even though I was a broke ass highschool student and was constantly fixing things which started to turn me off of the car. It started having emission problems and thats where my nightmare began. After numerous inspection tickets and fines for the inspection being out I decided that I would sell her. I put her for sale for 6 months and nothing. No calls no hits nothing so I was at a loss. After not having a decent vehicle for a DD I decided that I would do the infamous BP swap. At the time it was a very daunting task as I have never done anything like that before. I found a low milage engine that I got from a junkyard in Maryland. I searched for a year for a wire harness with absolutely no luck so I got tired of waiting and called a online mazda parts dealer. He said that he could get me a brand new one for 800ish. I ended up getting it for 750 shipped with some misc bolts. At that time I started buying parts to give the engine a fresh tuneup. Also changed the timing and waterpump while the engine was out of the car. I got the ECU which was easy to get from a junkyard.