Protege5 from Alabama

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Protege5 from Alabama

I am new to the Mazda scene. Just recently purchased a 2002 Mazda Protege5 for $2200. I am already having problems with it . I haven't been in the car scene in a long time so I need some help.

When I drive my car I get a constant vibration from both the front and the back from what I can tell. I have already had the car put on new tires and realigned and had the realignment check after a couple of weeks. I am unsure of the problem. Any help or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome.

Did you check the alignment data, or did you just ask a shop to do it? My 323 has caster issues (accident damge from before my parents bought it in '89), and the shops just kept quiet about the caster being off. I only recently found out when one technician called me into the alignment bay to show me, and then I went back to the old alignment papers to see what's going on. This is of course just an example of how they can keep quiet, I'm not saying that it's caster.

Also, did you have your wheels checked for balance and free play (bearings, etc)? Something might be loose.

EDIT: Just added something to prevent uncertainty.
    Last edited by JKuhn; 01-13-2017, 03:16 AM.
    '87 Mazda 323 SL - daily driver, backup show car (being restored as I get time)
    '82 BMW 518i (E12/8) with 32/34 Weber and Simota cone - old show car (stolen)
    '70 VW 411L Auto - show/restoration project to replace 518i - sold
    '99 BMW Z3 2.8 Roadster - show project

Comment

Thank you, no I did not think of that. Ill have my mechanic take a look at that when he replaces my maf sensor and air intake hose next week.

Comment

Good luck, and keep us posted.

Comment

Any ideas on why my car would be leaking oil? I put it on jacks and cant seem to find where it is coming from.

Comment

Is there anywhere to get a black shift boot with green stitching and black and green shift knob to match?

Comment