Turns over, no start

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Turns over, no start

Hey all! So I've got my self a 91 protege. She's a sweet little beast and I love her to death!

I had run into a slight issue though, over a period of about one week my car started having issues starting. I would have to sit and argue with her to start would just sit there and turn over. After a while she would start! It got consistently worse and worse until the point where she was no longer starting. Pay day came and I decided to actually put some money into this car. So I bought new spark plugs, wires, distributor cap, and rotor. All of which was needed especially them plugs.

Still no start though, so now this is where my panic sets in. I'm used to working on much older engines. In fact this is my first time owning a fuel injected vehicle. So as I'm sure you can imagine I'm very, very over whelmed. I have no clue what parts I'm looking at. I'm just a guy who likes to buy the part I need and bolt it in. Diagnosis of my old ford pickup was quite easy, this however. I have no clue where to start.

So I tried to look at the big picture, my next assumption is the fuel pump. But I'll be damned if I can find it! I have finally given in and decided to get some out side opinions. I need this girl to run. Anyone care to help?

IF you assume the fuel pump, spray some carb cleaner in the throttlebody and see if the car starts up. If it starts then check all of the fuses before you replace the fuel pump. Next make sure you put your wires on right at the distributor. Also make sure that you put the rotor on the distributor the right way. Some distibutors have 3 ways the rotor can go on. I'd mark it the way it is and try other ways.
    Cincinnati, ohio Bengals for life
    "Who Dey"

Comment

Originally posted by bomdoutscort View Post