'96 Protege ES broken timing belt

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

'96 Protege ES broken timing belt

New to the forum and I am asking for some advice. My timing belt broke on the way back from Utah. I had it towed to the garage I have been using for the last 10 years. Yesterday I did a search on this forum and thought that I found the answer here:

that this is a non interference engine. My mechanic is telling me that it is an interference engine. That the engine has two bent valves and will require at least 10 hours of labor to tear it down, repair, replace parts and put it back together. Can anyone tell me definitively if this is an interference or a non interference engine?

I was pretty sure that it is a 2.0 engine but reading through the FAQ's it appears that the 2.0 engine was not offered on that model year. Is that correct? The car was brought out of So. Cal (late in the summer of "96) for me as I wanted the ES with larger engine, manual transmission, and ABS. Thanks for your help.

Then it is a 96 ES with a 1.8L engine.

That engine is not an interference engine. I think it's been said before that Mazda never made interference engines. Well, that doesn't matter... I know for a fact that YOURS IS NOT.

How does he know that there are 2 bent valves? I'd bring the car to a different shop. Them telling you that it's an interference engine is a reason enough to not let them work on the car.

Comment