efficiency enthusiast here :)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

efficiency enthusiast here :)

Hi all, I bought a Protege last fall, and I absolutely love it. When I graduated high school, my girlfriend and I went to different colleges, 570 miles apart. So, I needed a car that could efficiently and comfortable take me from Illinois to Oklahoma a couple of times per month.

So far, I've racked up 12k miles on the Protege, and I couldn't ask for a better car, for the money.

With just a few modifications, like a grill block, low rolling resistance tires, and some weight reduction, I've managed 35-40 MPG in the Protege. At current gas prices, I can do a 1140 mile weekend roadtrip (Illinois to Oklahoma and back) for under $50!

<3 my protege.

grill block???
    ---Has ClubProtege helped you in someway? show your support by Contributing--- Click Here---

1992- project FE3..... 313 WHP @ 9.3psi

I pet my dash when I get into the car..."good car"
    he actually has a mazda tree, parts grow on it

Comment

1993 Protege LX-Midnight's shadow SOLD
      1996 Honda CBR600-Wrecked. Damn Honda crippled me
      2002 mazda MPV-family truckster SOLD
      2010 VW routon

Originally posted by jay
      .....they totally underestimated the number of gearheads such as myself that have families but refuse to grow the hell up and stop playing with cars, or that otherwise see the utility of having 4 doors. Obviously I ain't alone, as there are a helluva lotta sti and evo here. Bueler? Beuler? Mazda? Mazda?

Comment

Originally posted by bpt323 View Post
        grill block???
        It's a really easy to reduce aerodynamic drag, so I use a little less energy to keep the car moving on the highway.

Also, the block stops bugs and dirt from getting in the radiator.