323 lx sedan 4wd

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

323 lx sedan 4wd

I'm new to mazdas and I'm not to sure about what I can do to make this little car handle better. I was wondering if it is at all possible to swap the drive train from the 323 gt-x into the lx to make it 4wd. I looked on all the bf threads and I couldn't find anything on this topic
    I'm a balla on a budget

Wrong floorpan, wrong trans tunnel, wrong rear subframe, wrong gas tank. So no you can't just swap the drivetrain in. But it can still be made to handle better with the usual suspension upgrades.
    '90 AWD Protege, full GTR drivetrain swap, ~320 whp daily driver, RIP, and
    '90 AWD Protege, yet another GTR swap, Open class rallycar with a Toyota GT4 gearbox swap, thus crossing the line between hobby and mental illness. And a Brabus E55 K8, removing all doubt.
    http://www.wihandyman.com/forum/vbpi...?do=view&g=110
    http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2599486

Comment

Lame I was hoping to make my sedan be 4wd cuz I live in a rural area but I guess just beefing up the suspension will work to.
      I'm a balla on a budget

Comment

It's not that it can't be done, it would just take a parts GTX and a substantial bit of fabrication. If you're truly confident you have strong fabrication skills, I say go for it. Otherwise find a GTX to drive. A front wheel drive car can probably handle better than you expect with the right suspension setup and a limited slip differential.

I have both a GT and a GTX, there is a lot that is different chassis wise.
        Last edited by DuRWooD; 07-01-2011, 01:12 PM.
        sigpic
        1992 Familia GT-X
        1988 323 GTX
        2011 F150 Lariat Ecoboost
        2014 Civic Touring

Comment