Advice about a welder

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice about a welder

I’m thinking of buying a welder and would like some advise on which to get. My first task for this welder would be to fab an exhaust system, but after that, I’m looking for the widest functionality that I can get. . I’m leaning toward an acetylene set up at the moment but have yet to do any pricing.

I see that my local auto parts store has a 60-90 amp mig welder for $179.00, and a 35-80 amp arc welder for $119.00. I don’t have a lot of experience with these types of welders, hence the request for advice. I’m just a back yard mechanic and don’t need, or want a huge set up.

Thanks
    1991 Protege LX with GTX swap, DD
    1990 4WD Protege with GTX swap, Project/garage decoration
    2006 Mazda 3 with 2.3, Her car
    1980 Ford F100 Short bed with 300ci 6 cylinder, work truck/home for moss

Okay, found some other links, and some distributors.

Lots of info at, just have to search

http://www.honda-tech.com/zerosearch search weld, or mig

http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerosearch same as above

Then more info at

I'm going to check my local paper too, as well as http://portland.craigslist.org/

Thanks D323
    Last edited by 1st Gen; 01-29-2006, 11:34 PM.

Comment

I personally prefer a mig over an Arc. Arc is good for small projects, a little at a time... I think for doing an exahust setup you would have an easier time with the mig.
      The T3 BP MX-3 conversion has begun, and is taking forever & will kill me.

Comment

Don't waste money with an ARC welder.

Buy a MIG. I have smallest MIG Lincoln sells. It's 115v so it plug anywhere and has no gas (flux core wire). I haven't found any limits to it up 'till now. Best damn money I ever invested.

If you got the cash, by a step up from mine, the one that can use gas or flux-core wire.

Comment