1993 Fwd to Awd swap question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1993 Fwd to Awd swap question

I would like to do a awd swap on my 1993 protege. I found a car that has the drivetran and all this morning at the junk yard but i don't know what i need to pull off. I'm new to mazda's and don't really know what well hold up. What is awd specific, can i use the tran's that i already have or Is there something i should look out for. I would like to pull off the parts this weekend so any help would helpfull and appreciated.

cut the whole floorpan out if you can, would save you a lot of work. but you would need the awd transmission, shifter/linkage, driveline, all 4 hubs, axles, complete rear subframe, and gas tank. theres probably a few things that im missing

NW MAZDAS

Comment

Think's a lot. I really needed it. Hopefully i should be able to pull all this out this weekend.

Comment

is it a manual?

NW MAZDAS

Comment

My car is but the one at the junk yard look like a auto.

Comment

well you would need to source a 5spd awd gearbox and shifter/linkage, which could be tricky. unless you wanted an auto awd..
            Last edited by bogaut; 06-17-2012, 02:43 AM.

NW MAZDAS

Comment

no i want the 5speed. i was going to look at the other junk yards tomorrow to see if i can find one.

Comment

good luck. you were lucky enough to find 1 awd, doubt you will find another.

NW MAZDAS

Comment

Originally posted by aj123_4 View Post
                  I would like to do a awd swap on my 1993 protege. I found a car that has the drivetran and all this morning at the junk yard but i don't know what i need to pull off. I'm new to mazda's and don't really know what well hold up. What is awd specific, can i use the tran's that i already have or Is there something i should look out for. I would like to pull off the parts this weekend so any help would helpfull and appreciated.
                  What car did you find? If its a 4wd pro do what bo said.